Duplessis secured a place on the semi-finalist list of the Campbell Trophy

IRVING, Texas – UTSA senior for the second time in a row Hunter Duplessis was named a semi-finalist in the William V. Campbell Trophy, the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced on Wednesday.

Duplessis, a member of the Preseason Watchlists for the Lou Groza Award and the Wuerffel Trophy, was also a semi-finalist in the Campbell Trophy last season. Celebrating its 32nd anniversary, the Campbell Trophy® recognizes an individual for their combined academic achievement, football achievement, and exemplary leadership as the absolute best football scientist-athlete in the nation.

Duplessis has scored 9 out of 11 field goals and all 17 extra point attempts this season and is second in the nation with 2.25 field goals per game. He began his super senior campaign by making all three field goal attempts and scoring 4 for 4 in the 37-30 road win over Illinois, and he was named Conference USA Special Teams Player of the Week. He turned three-field goals in his second straight and fourth overall game after connecting twice from 46 yards and again from 41 yards in Lamar’s 54-0 shutout. Duplessis scored 2 for 4 on field goals and 3 for 3 on PATs in defeating Middle Tennessee, and in his final game he made all four PATs and trained the game-winning 42-yarder when time ran out on the 31-28 win in Memphis, which earned him his second weekly C-USA award. He has now made 35 career field goals and 82 extra points for 187 points, sums that are second in school history

Duplessis, a standout classroom company, was a CoSIDA Academic All-District selection of the first team and a selection of the C-USA All-Academic team last year. He graduated in August 2020 with a GPA of 3.78 as a dual major in information systems and cybersecurity. As a five-time member of the C-USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll, he is currently continuing his studies in technology management.

Duplessis has been active in the community throughout his UTSA career. Duplessis has been elected to the football team’s board of directors twice and is a member of the Society for Collegiate Leadership & Achievement, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and The Banquet Table student group. He has volunteered his time at the San Antonio Food Bank, Haven for Hope (local homeless shelter), and UTSA’s Rowdy Readers program that visits local elementary schools.

“These 176 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy® winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “For more than 60 years, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards have honored more than 800 college football players who have performed well on the soccer field, in the classroom, and as community leaders. And we are excited to celebrate its 32nd anniversary . ” the Campbell Trophy®, which honors the best of the best. This year’s semi-finalists demonstrate the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders. ”

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 27, and each of them will receive a $ 18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2021 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class presented by Fidelity Investments. Finalists will travel to the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas on December 7th for the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner presented by Las Vegas, where their achievements will be presented to one of the most powerful audiences in any sport. Live during the event, a member of the class will be declared the 32nd Campbell Trophy® winner and their postgraduate scholarship increased to $ 25,000.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in the final year of their eligibility to play, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, on outstanding footballing skills Skills as a first team player or significant contributor have shown strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of the media, the College Football Hall of Famers, and athletics administrators.

“The NFF would like to personally congratulate each of the nominees as well as their schools and coaches on their tremendous accomplishments,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. “We take great pride in highlighting the accomplishments of each semi-finalist and showing their ability to balance academics and athletics at the highest levels. The NFF Awards Committee will have an incredibly difficult task to select the finalists from this outstanding group of candidates.”

Launched in 1959 and presented by Fidelity Investments, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards will celebrate their 63rd anniversary in 2021. The awards were the first initiative in history to award postgraduate scholarships based on both a player’s academic and athletic performance, and the NFF has 878. honored outstanding personalities since the beginning of the program. This year’s postgraduate fellowships will bring the program’s total payout to more than $ 12.1 million.

ABOUT The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 under the early leadership of General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik, and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is an educational nonprofit that runs programs designed to bring power to power amateur football in the development of scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members across the country, NFF programs include the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Future for Football, the William V. Campbell Trophy®, and the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments and a range of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Catapult, Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Goodyear, Jostens, the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, the New York Athletic Club, and the Sports Business Journal. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter@NFFNetwork and learn more at footballfoundation.org.

Via the National College Football Awards Association
The William V. Campbell Trophy® is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which includes the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now have over 800 award winners dating back to 1935. To learn more about the association, visit ncfaa.org.


About Ellen Lewandowski

Check Also

Enter DC’s choice: wages for tipped workers, campaigning broadly

Comment on this story comment Election Day is unlikely to bring drastic changes to Washington …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.