Pierre residents Scott and Julia Jones, Stephanie Judson will be recognized for philanthropic efforts next week

Three Pierre residents are on this year’s list of honorees from the South Dakota Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals.

Pierre’s Scott and Julia Jones are recognized as Outstanding Philanthropists 2022. The couple have made pledges to 44 nonprofit organizations, run multiple campaigns, and served on countless boards. Additionally, Scott Jones is CEO of Delta Dental, which was recognized by AFP as South Dakota’s Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation in 2016.

Stephanie Judson von Pierre is President and CEO of the South Dakota Community Foundation. She is honored as Outstanding Fundraising Professional 2022. Since 2013, Judson has grown the foundation’s staff from 5 to 17 and grown its assets to more than $800 million while maintaining the organization’s original vision and culture.

The philanthropy awards will be presented on Tuesday (September 27, 2022) during the Association of Fundraising Professionals’ 2022 National Philanthropy Day Conference in Pierre.

Pictured LR: Julia and Scott Jones; Vona Johnson, former board member of Missouri Shores; Sarah Reinhart, general manager of Missouri Shores; Stephanie Judson, SDCF President and CEO.

In addition, this year awards are given to:

  • The city of Alcester, nestled in the rolling hills of Union County, South Dakota, is honored as an Outstanding Philanthropic Community of 2022. AFP SD recognizes the city for its myriad acts of significant and widespread philanthropic support through its volunteer fire and rescue service, community center, community endowment, and other philanthropic endeavors.
  • Construction of tour groups is recognized by AFP SD as an Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation 2022. The Sioux Falls-based company has provided more than 200 gifts in 32 years of giving to support healthcare, education and charitable causes, benefitting thousands of lives.
  • That Student United Way Huron Youth Leadership Council is honored with AFP SD’s 2022 Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy Award. The widely respected and well-known youth council offers opportunities to build strong leadership and engage the next generation of civic-minded community members.
  • AFP SD honors Rod Fouberg and the late Glenna Fouberg of Aberdeen with the 2022 Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Award. Rod, the longtime CEO and chairman of Dacotah Bank, and Glenna, an educator for 38 years, are known for donating their time and resources to numerous community projects in their city and state.
  • AFP SD will also present awards to its 2021 winners, originally honored during a virtual conference in November 2021. These honorees are the late Ray Hillenbrand of Rapid City, Robin Prunty of Avera Health in Sioux Falls, KBACK Radio of Sioux Falls, Coca-Cola Bottling Co. Highlands of Rapid City and the City of Faulkton.

About Ellen Lewandowski

Check Also

Students appointed to the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council

LINCOLN — One way the Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) is supporting the next generation …