Springfield Police Department recognizes officers, 1 civilians

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (Edited Press Release/KY3) — The Springfield Police Department Leadership Council held its annual department awards ceremony to recognize the outstanding work of SPD staff and community members.

“The Springfield Police Department’s awards program was created to give due recognition to officers and citizens whose acts or actions are deemed exceptional or outstanding,” said Police Commissioner Paul Williams. “Award applications are usually submitted by colleagues and thoroughly evaluated by the SPD leadership council.”

Medals were awarded in six different prize categories. That command commendation is awarded to SPD employees who excel in a single act or series of actions that have a positive impact on the community or significantly improve the department’s ability to carry out its mission. That Meritorious Service Award Awarded in recognition of actions by departmental staff who demonstrate exceptional behavior in the interests of protecting life or promoting justice. That Life Saving Award is issued to SPD staff who personally save a life by taking significant, non-routine action. That Medal of Valor – Silver is awarded to SPD employees who have distinguished themselves through courageous or heroic deeds that go beyond the duty of protecting life or promoting the law and thereby endanger their own safety. That Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded in recognition of an outstanding career for the Springfield Police Department and the community. That Civic Service Medalthe highest award bestowed upon a citizen for showing an act of bravery and/or courage in assisting the Springfield Police Department.

command commendation

  • Officer Josiah Overton
  • Officer Brad Nicholson*
  • Officer Dan Rankey
  • Sergeant Casey Wilkerson
  • Sergeant Chris Rasmussen*
  • Sergeant Christina Flood
  • Sergeant David Shanholtzer*
  • Lieutenant Steve Schwind
  • Officer Mardie Keller
  • Officer Nathan Thieman

Meritorious Service Award

  • Officer Brandon Thompson*

Life Saving Prize

  • Officer Anthony Petersen*
  • Officer Holly Counts
  • Officer Emily Clayton

Medal of Valor – Silver

  • Officer Emily Clayton
  • Air Conditioning Zachary Pugh
  • Officer Andrew Agnew
  • Officer Eric Morgan
  • Officer Michael Vogt
  • Officer Brandan Locke
  • Officer Matthew Thomas
  • Officer Austin Lohkamp
  • Officer Brad Loveland
  • Officer Taylor Bolton*
  • Officer Steven Hartman*

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Retired officer Tim Gomas
  • retired Cpl. Rod Edel
  • Retired Sergeant Chad Hampton
  • Sergeant David Shanholtzer*
  • Captain Culley Wilson*
  • Major Tad Peters

Civic Service Medal

representative of Sons of the American Revolution – Ozarks Mountain Chapter were also to be presented at the ceremony Law Enforcement Commendation Medal to Sgt. Ryan Russell, Sgt. Jason Trusler and Cpl. Clan Collier. This award is independent of the previously listed departmental awards.

To report a correction or typo, please send an email [email protected]

Copyright 2022 KY3. All rights reserved.

About Ellen Lewandowski

Check Also

Pierre residents Scott and Julia Jones, Stephanie Judson will be recognized for philanthropic efforts next week

Three Pierre residents are on this year’s list of honorees from the South Dakota Chapter …